REGULAR BOARD MEETING February 3, 2016

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on February 3, 2016 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Mitch Monson, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Charlie Blixt, Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Derrick Nelson, Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jon Karger.
Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda as amended: Move Item C to the closed session discussion. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.
The meeting was closed to discuss principal negotiations and facility/custodial time study.
The meeting was reopened.
The meeting was adjourned at 8:41 pm

Dena Johnson, Clerk

Jon Karger, Chair

REGULAR BOARD MEETING February 22, 2016

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a work session on February 22, 2016 at 5:30 pm and a regular meeting on February 22, 2016 in the board room at the high school. Board members present: Mitch Monson, Kathy Ouren, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Charlie Blixt, Mike Forsgren. Board members absent: Kathy Ouren. Others present: Superintendent Wanek, Brian Korf, Derrick Nelson, Dr. Ed Richardson, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Nadine Brown, Angie Westby, Mackenzie Korf, Logan Knorr and Lou Hoglund.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jon Karger.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the agenda with the addition of the following item:

Approve the annual AMAO plan for 2015-16

The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Logan Knorr and Mackenzie Korf presented information regarding senior privileges. Dena Johnson moved to approve the senior privileges as presented. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Mike Forsgren moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve the board minutes of the regular meeting on January 11, 2016 Approve payment of the 1/31 and February bills as presented Approve donations:

To Scholarships – Dakota Supply Group/Allen Ripley - \$250

To dance team - Brent Frazier - \$250

To ISD 548-elem milk breaks – Central Lutheran Church - \$100

TO ISD 548-for mittens - Zion Church - \$65

Personnel:

Hire Derrick Nelson as JH Basketball coach

Hire Shawn Gravalin as JH Softball coach

The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 2017 Achievement & Integration Budget as presented. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Mitch Monson moved to accept the resignation of Kathy Torkildson as head cook effective may 27, 2016. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the seniority list as presented. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION DIRECTING THE ADMINISTRATION TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REDUCTIONS IN PROGRAMS AND POSITIONS AND REASONS THEREFOR.

WHEREAS, the financial condition of the school district dictates that the school board must reduce expenditures immediately, and

WHEREAS, there has been a reduction in student enrollment and,

WHEREAS, the reduction in expenditure and decrease in student enrollment must include discontinuance of positions and discontinuance or curtailment of program, and

WHEREAS, a determination must be made as to which teachers' contracts must be terminated and not renewed and which teachers may be placed on unrequested leave of absence without pay or fringe benefits in effecting discontinuance of positions,

BE IT RESOLVED, by the School Board of Independent School District No. #548 as follows:

That the School Board hereby directs the Superintendent of Schools and administration to consider the discontinuance of programs or positions to effectuate economies in the school district and reduce expenditures and as a result of reduction in enrollment, make recommendations to the school board for the discontinuance of programs, curtailment of programs, discontinuance of positions or curtailment of positions.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Charlie Blixt And upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof:

Blixt, Karger, Johnson, Monson, Forsgren

And the following voted against the same:

None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve that Deb Wanek be named our Designated School Representative and Jon Karger be named our Designated School Board Representative to the MSHSL. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve Dr. Ed Richardson as the LEA Representative for Title III. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve the AMAO plan for 2015-16 as presented. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

The meeting was closed to discuss negotiations at 7:15 pm.

The meeting was reopened at 7:50 pm.

Dena Johnson move to approve the July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2017 Principals' Agreement. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve a new position – Building and Grounds Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to approve and agreement with Trevor Steeves-Building and Grounds Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Mike Forsgren and carried.

Mitch Monson move to approve a new custodial position to be advertised for and filled. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Mike Forsgren moved to cancel the March 2, 2016 regular meeting. The motion was seconded by Mitch Monson and carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:15 pr	n.
Jon Karger, Chair	Dena Johnson, Clerk